舌尖上的斐濟:斐濟美食推介

作者: Jennifer Liu 發布日期: 30 六月 2016

斐濟以自然風光聞名,除了藍天白雲、水清沙幼之外,其實斐濟都有不少值得一試的美食。因為斐濟地理環境的優勢,造就了斐濟種植根部植物的優勢。再加上良好的水質,魚類亦是斐濟非常有名的美食。吃早餐時看到咖哩的話不要太驚訝,因為斐濟的傳統美食受到印度文化的影響,所以在您用膳時不難看到充滿印度色彩的食物!

如果您是第一次到斐濟旅遊,以下是10項必試的美食:

 

1. 芋頭 Taro

Taro

芋頭是斐濟人民最愛的美食!它的營養價值高,所以您會發現當地人用膳時都會吃芋頭。斐濟人更會在五月慶祝芋頭節,在這個時候到斐濟旅遊的話就不要錯過!芋頭的烹調方法有很多,蒸、煎或炸的味道各有不同,再配上斐濟啤酒(Fiji Bitter/ Fiji Gold),簡直是人間享受。

2. 魚生沙律 Kokoda

Kokoda

斐濟的魚生沙律稱為Kokoda ,是非常有名的斐濟美食之一。生菜上的魚生加上蕃茄、洋蔥和辣椒碎,再配上檸檬汁和香濃椰香的忌廉,完全發揮魚生的新鮮味道。Kokoda大多是頭盤和主菜之間的一道菜,將頭盤和主菜的味道分隔開。入住斐濟洲際酒店的話,您更可以參加免費的Kokoda烹飪班,享受親手下廚的味道。

3. 芋葉椰奶湯 Rourou

別以為吃過芋頭後,芋頭葉便沒有用。在斐濟,你會吃一道菜叫做芋頭葉椰奶湯。其烹調方式是把芋頭葉放進椰奶再煮成湯,然後再混入洋蔥、辣椒碎和其他香料等等。如果您想品嚐這道美食的話,在大部分的斐濟自助餐都會吃到。

4. Duruka

Duruka

Duruka是斐濟的蘆筍,呈奶白色,比一般的蘆筍更鮮甜。在斐濟美食中,Duruka 大多會用椰子奶油煮魚塊。在洛塔娜有五間斐濟地道美食的餐廳,你可以在這些餐廳品嚐Duruka,一邊享受美食,一邊欣賞美不勝收、一望無際的海景。

5. Kava

Kava

Kava 是斐濟的神聖飲品,大多是在一些特別的儀式是飲用,現在在斐濟這種飲料經已非常普及,在不少酒店、渡假村和旅行團中都會有Kava 的儀式。Kava是利用植物Waka 的根部製成,據說有鬆弛肌肉的功效!但不要忘記要留意斐濟當地的習俗和禮儀。

6. 椰子 Coconut

Coconut

如果你去斐濟的話,一定不可以錯過當地的椰子。椰子是斐濟美食的重要食材之一,更加是斐濟的重要收入來源。椰子的任何部分都可以食,要新鮮的椰汁更令人垂涎三尺!

7. Nama

Nama

海葡萄是一種海草,像小葡萄一樣,酸酸的,非常滋味。在亞薩瓦群島,有不少自助餐都有海葡萄供應,不要忘記加海葡萄到你的沙律!

8. 諾麗果汁 Noni Juice

Noni Juice

諾麗果汁是一款太平洋島嶼特有的健康飲品,有助增強抵抗力和腸道健康,是您在斐濟絕對不能錯過的飲品!

9. 木薯糕 Cassava Cake

斐濟的木薯非常甜,但其實不是整個木薯都是甜的,只有木薯的根部是甜的,所以多數會用根部作甜品,有不少斐濟渡假村更用它作下午茶甜點呢!

10. 窯烤大餐 Lovo

Lovo

Lovo 並不是一種食物,斐濟語是解作在地球上煮的大餐。當地人會用香蕉葉包著各種肉類、魚和菜在地底下烹調,形成特別的燒烤風味。在斐濟有不少渡假村和酒店都有提供窯烤大餐。在斐濟香格里拉酒店,除了可以享用窯烤大餐外,更可以欣賞波利尼西亞舞蹈表演,是非常難得的斐濟旅遊體驗。

Overlay Loading Icon, 100px Overlay Loading Icon, 50px Overlay Loading Icon, 15px

Join Tabua Club |

10 Must-Try Local Foods In Fiji

By Jennifer Liu Posted 19 Apr 2016

Most travellers flock to Fiji for the sun, beaches and snorkelling, but did you know that the South Pacific island country is also a haven for delicious local eats? Heavily inspired by what the ocean has to offer, fish is a hero delicacy in Fiji in addition to root vegetables like sweet potato and taro, and exotic fruits like coconut and bananas. Traditional local cuisine is influenced by Indo-Fijian culture, and so don’t be surprised to see curry dishes on the breakfast menu.

If you’re travelling to Fiji for the first time, here are 10 things you should eat and drink.

1. Taro 6. Coconut
2. Kokoda 7. Nama
3. Rourou 8. Noni Juice
4. Duruka 9. Cassava Cake
5. Kava 10. Lovo

1. Taro

Taro
Taro

Taro is a beloved staple for Fijians and has been part of the local diet for centuries – its cultural importance is so significant that there’s even a dedicated holiday in May called Taro Day. You can enjoy taro in various forms, whether it’s steamed (the healthier version) or fried as fritters and potato chips – the latter pairs extremely well with local Fijian beer (Fiji Bitter or Fiji Gold).

2. Kokoda

Kokoda
Charred venisan kokoda with sea grapes

Kokoda (pronounced as ko-kon-da in Fiji) is a traditional Fijian dish of raw Mahi-Mahi fish marinated in lemon or limejuice, served on a bed of lettuce or with fresh fruit salad. This dish is topped with fresh coconut cream to create a rich creamy flavor, with the addition of tomatoes, spring onion and chilli. Kokoda is commonly referred to as Fiji’s ‘Coconut Ceviche’ and served as a popular entrée to cleanse the taste palate for following courses. At the InterContinental Hotel resort guests can take part in a complimentary Kokoda cooking class to sample this simple but delicious seafood dish.

3. Rourou

Rourou is a nutritious meal made from taro leaves soaked in coconut milk and blended with cooked onion, chilli and spices. Similar to spinach, taro leaves are a popular addition to Indo-Fijian curries. You will often find rourou served as a side dish during buffet-styled dinners. If you’re keen to try this out amongst other local Fijian dishes, head to Nadina Authentic Fijian Restaurant in Port Denarau where you can enjoy dinner over sunset.

4. Duruka

Duruka
Raw Daruka

Similar in appearance to asparagus and often known as bush asparagus, duruka is a staple vegetable to the Fijian diet and is commonly served with fish that has been soaked in coconut milk. The edible part of the grass-like plant is the enclosed flower, which needs to be stripped and then boiled. For some of the best authentic Fijian food, Laucala Island has five restaurants and grows as much produce on the island as possible. The island also boasts some of the best views in Fiji with all the restaurants looking out to neighbouring islands, the reef and the glorious Pacific Ocean.

5. Kava

Kava
Fijian Kava Ceremony

Kava is a popular local beverage in Fiji, and is also known as a ceremonial drink. Made from the root of the Piper Methysticum, kava is said to induce a numbing effect in the mouth and promote muscle relaxation and drowsiness. An ideal time to drink the beverage would be at night, close to bedtime. Kava ceremonies are offered at most hotels, resorts and during day trips, however keep in mind that there are local customs and etiquette to adhere to.

6. Coconut

Coconut
Coconut Tree

If you travel to Fiji, be sure to take advantage of the abundance of coconuts. Coconut is heavily relied upon in Fijian cuisine and is also exported, making it a great source of income for the country. All aspects of the coconut can be consumed; the water of the fruit is especially delicious because it is fresh from the tree.

7. Nama

Nama
Nama, Sea Grapes

Nama is a seagrass that looks like tiny grapes, which bursts in your mouth with an explosion of flavours. Typically harvested in the Yasawa Islands, nama can be found as a complement to food on buffet tables and is often served as a garnish. Be sure to add them to fresh food like salads for a flavoursome boost.

8. Noni Juice

Noni Juice
Noni Fruit 

Touted as a health elixir, noni juice is native to the Pacific Islands and Polynesia, and used as an herbal health tonic. Noni juice is said to help boost the immune system due to its rich antioxidant profile and can also help to cleanse the digestive tract.

9. Cassava Cake

Cassava is a woody shrub that is better known as tapioca. There are bitter and sweet varieties of cassava - the root provides the sweetness and is used to make cakes in Fiji. Many resorts will offer this treat at afternoon tea or for desert.

10. Lovo

Lovo
Lovo preparation

Lovo is not a food but rather a traditional way of eating that directly translates to ‘feast cooked in earth’. Meat, chicken, fish or vegetables are prepared and wrapped in banana leaves and left to cook in a hot pit underneath the ground. As a result, food that’s prepared in this manner is often infused with a distinct, smokey flavour. Most resorts and hotels in Fiji will offer a Lovo style meal and is typically included in day trips to islands. A notable Lovo experience is at the Shangri La on the main island, which includes an entertaining night of Polynesian dancing and fire displays.

Overlay Loading Icon, 100px Overlay Loading Icon, 50px Overlay Loading Icon, 15px