整装待发

作者: Shane Hussein 发布日期: 2013 年 10 月 16 日

整装待发
为何 Petero Civoniceva 决定代表斐济参赛

在英式橄榄球联盟里,没有多少人能像 Petero Civoniceva 那样受欢迎。这位名气斐然的斐济人一直是澳大利亚英式橄榄球联盟中出场次数最多的前锋,也是昆士兰出场次数最多的前锋。Petero Civoniceva 是国家橄榄球联盟 (NRL) 中为数不多的超级明星之一,曾参加过 300 多场顶级赛事。

因此,当他今年年初宣布将代表 Fiji Bati(我们的国家英式橄榄球联盟球队)出战 10 月份的英式橄榄球联盟世界杯时,让人倍感震惊。我一直想知道,这位在球场内外都已非常成功的传奇人物,为何还决定代表斐济出战,为国家荣誉做最后一搏。我有幸亲自询问了他这个问题。

4 月 22 日晚上,斐济航空启动飞往布里斯班的首个 A330 航班,为庆祝布里斯班到斐济航线的成功开通,公司在布里斯班机场专门举办了一场活动。Petero 应邀出席了这场庆祝活动。当他走上舞台刚说几句话,台下立刻响起一片欢呼,毫无疑问,他是一位极受欢迎的昆士兰人。

他对为何做最后一搏并穿上 Fiji Bati 白色球衣的回答非常简单。因为他谦逊有礼,而这是斐济人的典型品格。

“这是我一直都想做的事情,”他自豪地说。“这是对我个人血统的一种肯定,也是对家人的尊重......我真的非常希望抓住这个机会......与斐济球队再次融为一体。”

虽然名声斐然,但他从不认为自己的这一选择是理所当然的事情。现年 37 岁的 Petero Civoniceva 一直保持着健康的体魄,屡次代表 Redcliffe Dolphins 参加昆士兰杯,而斐济英式橄榄球联盟的官方人员也一直密切关注他的发展情况。

9 月 14 日,他最终被确定担任斐济球队的队长。

Civoniceva 将带领实力不凡的斐济球队出战世界杯,球队中不乏 NRL 球星,其中包括 Akuila Uate(纽卡素骑士队)Sisa Waqa(墨尔本风暴队)Jayson Bukuya(克罗纳拉鲨鱼队)、Sims 兄弟 Ashton(北昆士兰牛仔队)Tariq(北昆士兰牛仔队)和 Korbin(纽卡素骑士队),以及 Naiqama 兄弟 Wes (Penrith Panthers) 和 Kevin(纽卡素骑士队)。实际上,这支球队里有 4 对兄弟。

早在今年 4 月份,Civoniceva 就对斐济球队的精英球员赞不绝口。
“......球员们当然有巨大的潜力,特别是现有的这支球队,必能代表斐济的实力。单看这些 NRL 代表就知道,在即将到来的英式橄榄球联盟世界杯比赛中,我们必将会有精彩的表现。”

回归祖国(或祖籍)是澳大利亚英式橄榄球联盟圈中最盛行的做法。Fuifui Moimoi(帕拉玛塔鳗鱼队)、Roy Asotasi南悉尼 Rabbitohs 球队)以及其他许多球星将会代表汤加和萨摩亚等国家球队出战。

“此举对当前效力 NRL 的所有波利尼西亚/美拉尼西亚球员非常重要,因为这是发展本岛英式橄榄球事业的绝佳机会。我们需要做的就是关注这些拥有太平洋岛国血统、此刻代表祖国出战的球员的号码,他们是我们国家最强大的代表。我们希望看到越来越多的球员选择代表祖国出战。”

出战英式橄榄球联盟世界杯的 Fiji Bati 球队队员包括:

Petero Civoniceva(队长)、Wes Naiqama(副队长)、Kevin Naiqama、Sisa Waqa、Marika Koroibete、Akuila Uate、Aaron Groom、Kaliova Tani、Semi Radradra、Tariq Sims、Korbin Sims、Ashton Sims、James Storer、 Alipate Tani Noilea、Jason Bukuya、Vitale Jnr Roqica、Tikiko Inoke、Ilisavani Jegesa、Eloni Vunakece、Darryl Millard、Ryan Millard、Apisai Koroisau、Kaine Evans、Peni Botiki

Shane Hussein 是斐济航空的公关负责人

Overlay Loading Icon, 100px Overlay Loading Icon, 50px Overlay Loading Icon, 15px

Join Tabua Club |

Lacing Up

By Shane Hussein Posted 16 Oct 2013

Lacing Up
Why Petero Civoniceva decided to play for Fiji

There aren’t too many more popular figures in the world of Rugby League than Petero Civoniceva. The big Fijian is the most capped Australian rugby league forward of all time. He is the most capped Queensland forward of all time. He is part of a few National Rugby League (NRL) superstars who played over 300 games in the top grade.

So it was more than a little bit of a surprise when he announced his intentions at the beginning of this year to represent the Fiji Bati (our national rugby league team) at the Rugby League World Cup in October. I had always wondered why a legend who has been-there-done-that on (and off) the footy field would lace up for one last hurrah. And I was lucky enough to ask him myself.

On the evening on April 22nd, Fiji Airways launched our first A330 services to Brisbane, and celebrated its Brisbane to Fiji link with an event at Brisbane Airport. Petero accepted our invitation to headline the event. And it was evident from the cheers he got when he got on stage to say a few words that he was an extremely popular Queenslander.

His response to why lace up one last time, but don the white jumper of the Fiji Bati, was simple. His humility – typically Fijian.

“It’s something that I’ve always wanted to do”, he said proudly. “It’s recognition of my heritage and honouring my family… I’m really looking forward to getting that opportunity… to re-connect with the Fijian team.”

Despite his fame, he didn’t take his selection for granted. Now 37, he kept himself fit by playing for the Redcliffe Dolphins in the Queensland Cup, with Fijian Rugby League official keeping a track on his progress.

He was final confirmed in the side as Captain on September 14th.

Civoniceva will lead a power-packed Fijian side to the World Cup, filled with NRL stars, including Akuila Uate (Newcastle Knights), Sisa Waqa (Melbourne Storm), Jayson Bukuya (Cronulla Sharks), Sims brothers Ashton (North Queensland Cowboys), Tariq (North Queensland Cowboys) and Korbin (Newcastle Knights), as well as the Naiqama brothers Wes (Penrith Panthers) and Kevin (Newcastle Knights). Actually there are 4 sets of brothers in the squad.

Even back in April, Civoniceva was excited about the talent in the Fijian team.
“…Definitely got tremendous amount of potential especially within the squad that we have on offer to be able to represent Fiji. We look at the NRL representatives alone, there’s great scope for great potential for our performance coming on for the Rugby League World Cup.”

This notion of heading back to your roots (or your parents’ roots) is the in-thing in Australian Rugby League circles. Stars of the game like Fuifui Moimoi (Parramatta Eels) and Roy Asotasi (South Sydney Rabbitohs), among many others, will turn out for teams like Tonga and Samoa.

“That’s something that’s very important to all Polynesian / Melanesian players that are currently playing in the NRL, that opportunity to grow the game in the islands. All we have to do is look at the number of players with Pacific island heritage that are playing in the competition at the moment, we’ve got strong representation. Hopefully we'll see more and more players choose to for the country of their origin.”

The Fiji Bati squad to the Rugby League World Cup:

Petero Civoniceva (Captain), Wes Naiqama (Vice Captain), Kevin Naiqama, Sisa Waqa, Marika Koroibete, Akuila Uate, Aaron Groom, Kaliova Tani, Semi Radradra, Tariq Sims, Korbin Sims, Ashton Sims, James Storer, Alipate Tani Noilea, Jason Bukuya, Vitale Jnr Roqica, Tikiko Inoke, Ilisavani Jegesa, Eloni Vunakece, Darryl Millard, Ryan Millard, Apisai Koroisau, Kaine Evans, Peni Botiki

Shane Hussein is the head of public relations for Fiji Airways

Overlay Loading Icon, 100px Overlay Loading Icon, 50px Overlay Loading Icon, 15px