苏瓦国家博物馆的珍藏宝藏

作者: Shane Hussein 发布日期: 2014 年 5 月 9 日

国家博物馆通常称为“斐济博物馆”或“斐济苏瓦博物馆”,对于那些有兴趣探索斐济丰富文化和动荡历史的游客来说,这里是理想的目的地。

国家博物馆位于苏瓦市中心的德斯登花园 (Thurston Gardens) 内,被认为是斐济最受欢迎的博物馆,馆内珍藏了一系列令人惊叹的文物和古器物,这些藏品可追溯到 3,700 多年前第一批美拉尼西亚人抵达该群岛的时期。

实际上,国家博物馆的核心部分是“Ratu Finau”,它是一个巨大的 waqa tabus(双壳体独木舟),全长 13.43 米,用于海上货物和人员的长途运输。此外,这座博物馆还拥有关于斐济近代史的展品,包括欧洲探险家早期在此探险的经历,以及食人仪式的证据。

博物馆

来源:travel.usnews.com

如欲了解苏瓦的更多迷人景点,请查看斐济航空的最新苏瓦信息图

国家博物馆之旅

《孤独星球》(Lonely Planet) 建议从国家博物馆售票柜台后面的展品开始,按顺时针方向参观该馆。
根据此路线,您首先会看到早期斐济移民的古器物,包括古代珠宝的一些原件,如酋长的鲸鱼牙项链,以及食人族使用的一系列令人生畏的斐济粗棍棒和工具。其他充满文化底蕴的斐济古器物(如乐器和炊具)则可让您快速了解早期斐济移民的日常生活。

在博物馆商店的另一侧,您可以看到南太平洋国家与欧洲人民之间日益激烈的文化冲突的证据。事实上,您还可以在此看到博物馆中更能反映文化冲突的展品之一,即 Thomas Baker 的一只经过充分咀嚼的鞋。Thomas Baker 是一名基督教传教士,1867 年他因为轻率之举而被斐济食人族杀死。
上楼后,您可以看到印度工人及其后代对斐济文化和社会所做的贡献。这些印度人被称为 Girmitiyas,19 世纪 70 年代被英国殖民统治者带到斐济,在甘蔗种植园工作,工作条件通常非常恶劣。在这里,您可以看到他们的乐器和做工精致的珠宝。

最后,您可以欣赏由斐济当代顶级艺术家创作的一系列精美卓绝的马西艺术品,为这场参观之旅画上完美的句号。

关于斐济博物馆

自 1904 年 William Allardyce 爵士在苏瓦市政厅收集首批古器物开始,保护斐济的文化历史就已成为该群岛精神文明建设的一个重要部分。
1919 年的火灾对市政厅和博物馆的展品造成了严重破坏,博物馆经历数次搬迁,直到 1955 年才最终落户现今国家博物馆所在地。选择在德斯登花园建馆具有重大意义,因为这里是苏瓦村庄的旧址。

德斯登花园

参观国家博物馆后,强烈建议您游览苏瓦的植物园,即景色迷人的德斯登花园。1843 年,酋长 Tabukaucoro 带领雷瓦人民,在这里进攻防守严密的旧城,将其夷为平地,这是斐济历史上最激烈、最血腥的战役之一。在这场战争中,许多居民被杀死和吃掉。现在,德斯登花园由国家博物馆的策展人进行维护,种着许多令人惊奇的地方植物。

德斯登花园

昨天,在苏瓦的德斯登花园内,来自贝卡岛的走火者将炽热的岩石移到一边,准备在火上行走。摄影:JUSTINE MANNAN/《斐济太阳报》(Fiji Sun)

抵达与离开

国家博物馆距苏瓦市中心五分钟路程,成人门票为 7 斐济元,15 岁以下的儿童门票为 5 斐济元。现在,斐济航空每周提供两个从悉尼直飞苏瓦的航班,助您轻松预订下一次斐济假期

Overlay Loading Icon, 100px Overlay Loading Icon, 50px Overlay Loading Icon, 15px

Join Tabua Club |

Hidden Treasures of Suva National Museum

By Shane Hussein Posted 9 May 2014

Commonly referred to as the ‘Fiji Museum’ or the ‘Museum of Suva Fiji’, the National Museum is an exciting destination for travellers looking to indulge in Fiji’s rich culture and volatile history.

Located within the Thurston Gardens in the city centre of Suva, the National Museum is considered to be Fiji’s most popular museum and displays an amazing array of antiquities and artifacts that date back to a time when the first Melanesians arrived in the archipelago over 3,700 years ago.

Indeed, the centerpiece of the National Museum is the ‘Ratu Finau’ - a huge waqa tabus or double-hulled sea-faring canoe, measuring 13.43 metres in length that was used to transport goods and people over long ocean distances. In addition, the museum has exhibitions around Fiji’s more recent history including early encounters with European explorers as well as evidence of cannibalistic rituals.

Museum

Source: travel.usnews.com

To uncover more of Suva’s amazing sights, check out latest Suva infographic from Fiji Airways.

A Tour Of The National Museum

Lonely Planet recommends to start the tour of the National Museum with the displays behind the ticket counter and then to work your way around the building in a clockwise fashion.
Taking this advice, your will first discover artifacts from the early Fijian settlements including some original examples of ancient jewelry, such as a chiefs’ whale-tooth necklace, as well as an intimidating array of Fijian war clubs and tools used by cannibals. Other cultural Fijian artifacts such as musical instruments and cooking utensils give you a dramatic snapshot into the daily life of the early Fijian settlers.

On the other side of the National Museum’s shop, you will find evidence of the increasing cultural clashes between the South Pacific nation and European peoples. In fact, it is here where you will discover one of the museum’s more confronting displays - the well-chewed shoe of Thomas Baker, a Christian missionary killed by Fijian cannibals for his indiscretions in 1867.
Head upstairs to discover the contributions made by Indian workers and their descendants to Fijian culture and society. Known as Girmitiyas, the Indians were brought to Fiji by British colonial rulers in the 1870s and worked on in the sugar plantations often in poor conditions. Here you will see evidence of their musical instruments and finely crafted jewelry.

Close your tour of the National Museum by inspecting the stunning range of beautiful masi art by some of Fiji’s finest contemporary artists.

About The Fiji Museum

Preserving Fiji’s cultural history has been an important part of the archipelago’s psyche since 1904, when the first collection of artifacts was gathered in Suva’s Town Hall by Sir William Allardyce.
A fire in 1919 significantly damaged the Town Hall and the museum’s exhibitions where moved to a variety of venues until the establishment of the current National Museum’s location in 1955. The choice of location in the Thurston Gardens is significant as it is on the same spot that the original village of Suva once stood.  

Thurston Gardens

After visiting the National Museum, it is highly recommended that you wander through Suva’s Botanical Gardens, also known as the stunning Thurston Gardens. It is on this site in 1843, that the Rewa people attacked the old fortified town, led by Chief Tabukaucoro, and burnt it to the ground in one of the fiercest and bloodiest battles in Fijian history. Many of the inhabitants were killed and eaten. Nowadays, the Thurston Gardens are maintained by the curators of the National Museum and boast an amazing collection of indigenous flora.  

ThurstonGardens

Firewalkers from Beqa shifting hot rocks aside ready for firewalking at Thurston Gardens in Suva yesterday. Photo: JUSTINE MANNAN/Fiji Sun

Getting There and Away

The National Museum is a five-minute walk from the city centre of Suva and entry is FJ$7 for adults and FJ$5 for children up to 15 years. You can now fly to Suva direct from Sydney twice weekly with Fiji Airways, so it has never been easier to book your next holiday to Fiji today.

Overlay Loading Icon, 100px Overlay Loading Icon, 50px Overlay Loading Icon, 15px