斐济职业冲浪选手 Isei Tokovou 获得斐济职业冲浪锦标赛参赛资格

作者: Shane Hussein 发布日期: 2014 年 5 月 27 日

斐济号称拥有地球上最令人称奇的暗礁碎波,如 Cloudbreak 和 Restaurants,数十年来吸引了众多世界顶级职业冲浪选手探索其魅力海滨也就不足为奇了。2014 年,职业冲浪社区再度将目光投向塔法卢阿岛和即将到来的职业冲浪协会 (ASP) 斐济职业锦标赛。女子锦标赛将于 5 月 25 日周日开赛,男子锦标赛将于 6 月 1 日周日开赛。

斐济职业锦标赛聚集了众多世界顶级冲浪选手,包括美国的 Kelly Slater 和澳大利亚的 Taj Burrow,是一场高潮迭起、冲浪绝技轮番上演的视觉盛宴。著名的冲浪选手无疑成为众人追随的对象,而斐济航空更高兴地是看到斐济当地职业冲浪英雄 Isei Tokovou 在赛场上大展身手。

冲浪选手 
周末,Isei Tokovou 在 Cloudbreak 冲浪。来源:aspworldtour.com

上周获得今年外卡选手资格的斐济选手 Tokovou 继 2004 和 2012 年获得世界锦标赛资格后,将第三次出现在斐济职业冲浪锦标赛的赛场上。在 2012 年世界锦标赛中,Tokovou 被世界冲浪冠军 Kelly Slater 淘汰。


今年,这名来自亚萨瓦的斐济冲浪老将会寻求当地冲浪爱好者的支持,以在锦标赛中取得更优异的成绩。

“斐济选手从未进到第三轮,Isei 和其他选手一样都有机会进入第三轮,”斐济冲浪裁判 John Philip 告诉《斐济时报》。“Isei 以前参加过这项比赛,知道会发生什么情况。”

的确,Tokovou 以往在斐济职业冲浪锦标赛的经验很可能成为他手中的一张王牌,因为 Cloudbreak 完美而极具挑战的海浪据说可以区别选手的优劣。

即便如此,驾驭 Cloudbreak 的卷浪并不是 Tokovou 的唯一障碍。实际上在第一轮,Tokovou 将遭遇更大的挑战,他的对手将是去年 Volcom 斐济职业冲浪赛的冠军 Kelly Slater。据前职业冲浪选手 Ross Williams 所言,这位世界排名第一的选手最有望赢得 2014 年斐济职业冲浪锦标赛。

“Kelly 在这场比赛中基本已经稳操胜券,”Williams 在 ASP 网站上发表博客说道:“不选择 Kelly 参赛就像是不选择湖人去击败快船…”

啊哈!有人应该告诉 Williams,湖人在 3 月份输给了快船,所以 2014 年斐济职业冲浪赛出现逆转也不无可能!

今年,我们的斐济选手会不会一举拿下世界冠军呢?欢迎在 Facebook 上留言,说说您的看法。

Cloudbreak 冲浪大体验 – 斐济塔法卢阿岛

Cloudbreak 享有世界上最具挑战性的海浪之称,是大胆冒险家的理想冲浪之选。

实际上,研究 Cloudbreak 的专家建议新手应在斐济冲浪点正左方碎波的“点”和“中央”练习,因为暗礁某些部分可能会变得极浅。应避免进入波浪的内部,也称为“Shish Kabobs”,因为锋利的岩石和针形珊瑚就位于蓝绿色的水面下。

抵达与离开

享受世界级海浪上的最佳冲浪运动,尽在塔法卢阿岛冲浪度假胜地。

如果您想要一览今年斐济职业冲浪锦标赛的壮观景象,为您喜爱的冲浪选手欢呼加油,斐济航空可以带您前往,我们提供从澳大利亚、新西兰和美国到纳迪的每日航班。

着陆之后,径直前往塔法卢阿岛,在这里您可以看到离岸大约一英里的暗礁上击破的海浪。同样,您也可留在附近的纳摩图岛。

Overlay Loading Icon, 100px Overlay Loading Icon, 50px Overlay Loading Icon, 15px

Join Tabua Club |

Fijian Surfing Pro-Isei Tokovou-Qualifies For The Fiji Pro

By Shane Hussein Posted 27 May 2014

Laying claim to some of the planet’s most astonishing reef breaks, such as Cloudbreak and Restaurants, it comes as no surprise that Fiji has for decades attracted the world’s greatest pro surfers to its shores. In 2014, the pro-surfing community will again turn their attention to Tavarua Island and the upcoming Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP) Fiji Pro tournament, kicking off on Sunday 25th May for the women and Sunday 1st June for the men.

Hosting the crème-della-crème of the world’s surfing talent, including America’s Kelly Slater and Australia’s Taj Burrow, the Fiji Pro is a spectacular event that always delivers high drama and superb wave-riding. That said, while the big name surfers will certainly draw the crowds, we at Fiji Airways are most excited to see local Fijian pro-surfing hero, Isei Tokovou, on the circuit.

surfer 
Isei Tokovou at Cloudbreak on the weekend. Source: aspworldtour.com

Coming from behind last week to qualify as this year’s ‘wildcard’ entry, Fiji’s own Tokovou will be making his third appearance at the Fiji Pro event after previously qualifying in 2004 and again in the 2012 World Championship –  where he was knocked out by World Number One, Kelly Slater.


This year though, the veteran Fijian surfer from Yasawa will be seeking support from the local fans to go further in the tournament than ever before.

“No Fijian has ever progressed to the third round and Isei has an equal chance as anybody to make it to the third round,” Fiji Surfing official, John Philip, told the Fiji Times. “Isei has competed in this event before and he knows what to expect.”

Indeed, Tokovou’s experience in previous Fiji Pro surfing tournaments could be his trump-card against the competition as Cloudbreak’s flawless yet challenging waves have a reputation of separating the men from the ‘grommets’. 

That said, taming the barrels at Cloudbreak will not be Tokovou’s only hurdle. Indeed, the bigger challenge will overcoming last year’s Volcom Fiji Pro winner, Kelly Slater, in the first round. According to former pro surfer, Ross Williams, the World Number One is the favourite to take out the 2014 Fiji Pro tournament.

“Kelly basically owns this event,” Williams blogged on the ASP website. “Not choosing Kelly here is like not choosing the Lakers to beat the Clippers…”

Ah-hem! Well, someone should tell Williams that the Lakers lost to the Clippers in March, so an upset in the 2014 Fiji Pro is possible!

Could this be the year our local Fiji hero takes down the World Number One? We’d love to hear what you think on our Facebook page.

Surfing Cloudbreak – Tavarua, Fiji

With a reputation as being one of the most challenging waves in the world, Cloudbreak is not a surfing destination for the faint hearted.

Indeed, experts on Cloudbreak recommend that newcomers stick to the ‘point’ and ‘middle’ of the Fiji surf spot’s perfect left breaking barrels as the reef can become extremely shallow in parts. The ‘inside’ section of the wave, also known as ‘Shish Kabobs’, should be avoided due to the sharp rocks and needle-like coral that sit just below the shimmering turquoise surface.  

Getting There and Away

The best place to stay and enjoy the surfing action on the world-class waves is Tavarua Surf Resort.

If you are looking to join this year’s Fiji Pro spectacle and to cheer on your favourite surfer, Fiji Airways can get you to the reef with daily flights to Nadi from Australia, New Zealand and the USA.

After touching down, head out to Tavarua Island where you can see the waves break over the reef about a mile off-shore. Likewise, you can also stay on nearby Namotu Island. 

Overlay Loading Icon, 100px Overlay Loading Icon, 50px Overlay Loading Icon, 15px