来自卡斯塔威岛度假村的明信片斐济

作者: Stephen Ward 发布日期: 2014 年 4 月 15 日

我们的船划到岸边,四个面带笑容的斐济人唱着动听的歌曲前来迎接我们,他们美妙的歌声荡漾在清澈、碧绿的水面上。他们是斐济最受欢迎的度假村之一的工作人员,我们一踏上洁白如洗的沙滩,他们便热情地问候道“您好,欢迎来到卡斯塔威岛!”

CastawayIsl

那是我们感受到的最温暖的欢迎方式,它充分表达了斐济人的热情好客与亲切友善,是我们在卡斯塔威岛停留期间一直能感受到的礼遇。

备受赞誉的卡斯塔威岛度假村坐落在一座私人岛屿上,是斐济马马努卡群岛的高级度假村之一。度假村周围有白色的沙滩、充满生气的珊瑚礁和蔚蓝的南太平洋海域,难怪这座迷人的度假村在去年拿下多项荣誉奖项,包括《豪华旅游杂志》的“2013 年最佳海外家庭度假村”、酒店预订搜索引擎 HotelsCombined 的“2013 年杰出酒店”称号,以及 TripAdvisor“2013 年旅行者之选”奖项。

抵达

在我们抵达之前,我们和船上的客人闲聊了一会儿,发现许多客人都是卡斯塔威岛度假村的回头客。

“这是我们第三次入住卡斯塔威岛度假村,”来自澳大利亚墨尔本的 48 岁老店经理 Amanda 说道。“我们第一次来卡斯塔威岛是四年前,此后又来过好几次。”

当问到 Amanda 和她的伙伴为何不断来斐济时,她回答说这里的天气比墨尔本要好很多。“我喜欢阳光,能够度假出游当然更好了。斐济航空的机票很便宜,这里的人待我们永远像家人。”

事实上,抵达卡斯塔威岛时,我注意到,卡斯塔威岛度假村的工作人员像老朋友一样和 Amanda 及她的伙伴打招呼,还送上温暖的拥抱;他们对首次光临度假村的我们也是笑脸相迎,十分友善。

住宿

我们在工作人员的陪同下到了传统的斐济草屋(小屋),迎接我们的是当地欢快的鸣鸟声和轻柔的海浪声。我们注意到,草屋采用传统斐济式建筑风格,搭有传统的茅草屋顶,简洁的外墙与周围的热带美景融为一体。不过,草屋的内部却是另外一番景象。

客房 
房间布置宽敞时尚,设施齐全,里面有一张特大床、两张单人床,还有一个可拉开用来分隔两个区域的私人滑动屏风。住在草屋里一个星期始终让人感到宾至如归,前门有一片沙滩,不出几步便可戏水玩耍。

活动

现在,您可能会思考,困于一座迷人的南太平洋岛屿,您还得想方设法找点事情做。 错了。卡斯塔威岛度假村为客人提供各种免费及付费活动,供他们自娱自乐。

度假村的客人可免费使用各种水上运动设备,例如呼吸管、面罩和脚蹼、立式划板、帆板、双轨帆船和独木舟等。此外还有各种机动化活动,包括赏海豚、跳岛快艇之旅、钓鱼、滑水、划香蕉船等。

还有,如果您偏好慢节奏的假期,建议您去最近才翻新的 Castaway Massage Bure 体验一下斐济岛的按摩术。斐济岛的按摩术结合了传统按摩技巧和芳香疗法,在棕榈叶和热带花卉的拥簇下静静地享受完全身按摩之后,我感到身心无比放松和平静。

家庭活动

卡斯塔威岛有很多适合全家人参加的活动,一家大小都能在这里欢度美好时光。 作为度假杂志《Holiday With Kids》“2013 年十大家庭度假村”的前 10 强入围者,富有传奇色彩的卡斯塔威岛儿童俱乐部为三岁及以上的儿童免费提供各种趣味活动。儿童俱乐部从早上 9:00 免费开放到晚上 10:00,专注于提供具有斐济特色的趣味活动,如喂鱼、砸西瓜、抓螃蟹以及海滩篝火等。

游泳

卡斯塔威岛的合格活动协调员将为孩子们保驾护航,旅行结束时,他们都会乐而忘返。事实上,在我们停留岛上期间就目睹了在准备离岛时一个小男孩和他父母之间的欢闹交流。小家伙躲在“水上运动活动”的广告牌下,希望他的父母不会发现他,好让他留在这个热带岛屿天堂。

对于想要阳光假期的家庭,卡斯塔威岛在 2014 年 4 月的第一周和最后一周将提供许多客房。此外,还可充分利用 May Munchies 优惠,只要一次性支付 399 斐济元 + 税(每位成人)及 199 斐济元 + 税(每名儿童),即可包您整个住宿期间的膳食,因此住得越久,越超值。

餐饮

谈到美食,卡斯塔威岛拥有众多一流食府,比如在著名的 Sundowner 酒吧,可在海滩上享用美味的炭烤比萨;在 Waters Edge 餐厅则可一览浩瀚无垠的海景。

然而,我们却尤其倾心于由著名中国厨师 Lance Seeto 经营的“1808”。1808 的食材来源新鲜,药草菜式巧妙融合了斐济与中餐艺术烹饪技巧;这家店结合了古老的饮食哲学,将用餐当作生活娱乐的源泉,倡导健康养生。店里的食物既美味可口又新鲜健康。

阳光
如果您想要一个有阳光、沙滩和海浪的假期,斐济和卡斯塔威岛绝对是不二之选。从澳大利亚、新西兰和洛杉矶搭乘斐济航空的短途航班即可到达斐济,而且 2014 年 4 月的整个月份,4 人每晚仅需花 950 斐济元(不含斐济政府税)便可入住卡斯塔威岛度假村的小岛草屋。

通过斐济航空预订假期

关于作者:
本文由悉尼火箭专家兼斐济发烧友 Stephen Ward 执笔。他和妻子 Jenny 是斐济的常客,经常搭乘斐济航空航班并住过奥特瑞格的连锁酒店,包括卡斯塔威岛度假村。

Overlay Loading Icon, 100px Overlay Loading Icon, 50px Overlay Loading Icon, 15px

Welcome to Fiji Airways

Please select a region and language below:

By accepting and continuing to use www.fijiairways.com you will be agreeing to the website Terms and Conditions, the Privacy Policy and the use of cookies while using the website.

Accept and Continue

 

Join Tabua Club |

A Postcard From Castaway Island Resort. Fiji

By Stephen Ward Posted 15 Apr 2014

The melodious voices of four smiling Fijians gently float over the clear turquoise waters as our boat glides into shore. They are the staff of one of Fiji’s best loved resorts and as we step on to the brilliant white sand, they release an exuberant - “Bula and welcome to Castaway Island!”

CastawayIsl

It was the warmest of welcomes, something that is so synonymous with the hospitality and friendly people of Fiji and something we discovered to be ever present during our stay at Castaway Island.

Located on a private island, the multi-award winning Castaway Island Resort is one of the premier stays on Fiji’s beautiful Mamanuca Islands. Surrounded by white sandy beaches, vibrant coral reefs and azure South Pacific waters, it wasn’t not hard to see why the stunning resort recently scooped a swag of accolades last year, including “Best Overseas Family Resort 2013” by Luxury Travel Magazine, Hotels Combined “2013 Stellar Stays” winner as well as a TripAdvisor 2013 Travelers’ Choice Award.
 
Arrival

Before our arrival, we chatted casually to of the some fellow guests on the boat and found that many of the guests are ‘returnees’ to the island resort.

“This is our third stay at Castaway Island,” said Amanda, a 48 year old store manager from Melbourne, Australia. “We first came to Castaway Island four years ago and have made the trip a few times since.”

When asked why Amanda and her partner kept coming to Fiji, she replied that the weather was so much better than in Melbourne. “I love the sun and it’s always great to get away. We flew on Fiji Airways with cheap flights and the people here have always treated us like family.”

Indeed, upon arriving at Castaway Island, I noticed that Amanda and her partner were greeted like old friends with a warm hug by the Castaway Island staff; while for us, first timers, we were embraced with a kind smile.  

Accommodation

As we were escorted to our traditional Fijian bure (bungalow), we were greeted the sounds of local songbirds and the gentle crashing of the waves. Sporting a traditional thatched roof in the style of a traditional Fijian style home, the humble exterior of our bungalow blends perfectly with the tropical settings. However, the interior of our bure is quite a different story.  

Room 
Spacious and stylish with modern, well-appointed rooms, there is a king bed, two single beds and a sliding privacy screen that pulls across to separate the two areas. It was a perfect little home away from home for a week, with sand at the front door and just a few steps down to the water.

Activities

Now, you may think that being marooned on a stunning South Pacific island you would struggle to find things to do. Not true. Castaway Island has a vast range of free and paid activities for their guests to enjoy themselves.

Water sports equipment such as snorkels, masks and fins, stand up paddle boards, windsurfers, hobie cats and kayaks are all free to resort guests to use.  There are also a great range motorised activities, including Dolphin Safaris, Island Hop speedboat trips, fishing, water skiing, banana boat rides and more.  

Yet, if you prefer a holiday at a slower pace, I would recommend you try the Fijian Island Massage at the newly renovated Castaway Massage Bure. Using a combination of traditional techniques and aromatherapy, I emerged relaxed and calm after a tranquil full body massage amongst the palm fronds and tropical flowers.

For The family

Families will also have an amazing time at Castaway Island with so much to do. A Top 10 finalist in Holiday With Kids Magazine’s “Top 10 Family Resorts for 2013”, the legendary Castaway Kids Club has a great range of fun free activities for kids from just three years of age.  Open from 9am to 10pm and completely free of charge, the Kids Club focuses on fun activities with a distinct Fijian flavour – from fish feeding to watermelon smashing and crab catching to beach bonfires.
 
Swimming

The kids are in safe hands with Castaway Island’s qualified Activities Co-ordinators and by the end of the stay, the kids won’t want to leave. Indeed, during our stay, we saw a hilarious exchange between one little boy and his parents as they were about to depart the Island. The young chap hid himself under the Watersports Activity sandwich board, in the hope his parents wouldn’t discover him and would leave him at the tropical island paradise.

For the family looking for a sun soaked holiday, Castaway Island has plenty of rooms available in the first and last week of April 2014. Likewise, take advantage of their great May Munchies Deal, which includes all meals for the entire stay at just one payment of F$399 + taxes per adult and F$199 + per child – the longer you stay, the greater the value.

Dining

Speaking of food, Castaway Island has a great choice of superior dining outlets including the famous Sundowner Bar that serves wood fired pizzas by the beach; and the Waters Edge Restaurant with sweeping ocean views.

However, we were especially keen to try ‘1808’ run by renowned Chinese chef, Lance Seeto. With freshly sourced produce, 1808’s herbal menu embraces Fijian and Chinese artisan cooking techniques; combining the age old philosophy of eating and enjoying food as a source of life enrichment for good health. The food was delicious and fresh.

Sun
If you are looking to escape to the sun, sand and surf, then there is no better destination than Fiji and Castaway Island. Fiji is just a short flight with Fiji Airways from Australia, New Zealand and LA and for the month of April 2014, an Island Bure at Castaway Island Resort for 4 people is just F$950 + Fiji Govt taxes per night.

Book your holiday with Fiji Airways

About the Author:
This article was written by Sydney-based rocket scientist and Fiji aficionado, Stephen Ward. He and his wife, Jenny, are regular guests to Fiji, flying Fiji Airways and staying at Outrigger’s chain of hotels, including Castaway Island.

Overlay Loading Icon, 100px Overlay Loading Icon, 50px Overlay Loading Icon, 15px